Ex Old Bill. My advice UPDATED. PLEASE READ!

Anything aircooled which gets arf inched
jonnolly

Ex Old Bill. My advice UPDATED. PLEASE READ!

Post by jonnolly »

I get very saddened, as do we all, when I hear of vans going missing, often never to be seen again. I feel there are a few things that all owners could do to lessen their chances of being a victim, for as we all know, there are no guarantees. I was a Cop in the East End of London for over 16 years and have seen a lot of car crime, much of it avoidable. Now I'm not going to get holier than thou here because I have had both theft of and theft from my vehicles, so we are all potential victims. Car security has moved on bundles since I last dealt with it, and thus the thieves have become craftier still. No alarm on its own is protection. How many times do you hear one going off at night, moan about it and go back to sleep? They are a deterrent, I have one on my van, but have to work with other measures. Here, for anybody interested, is my advice for securing your van.

1 Whether you park on a drive, in the street or in a garage, get a clamp on it, and don't skimp on a cheap one. How much have you invested in that van again?

This is a link to the type of wheel clamp I have for those interested. It weighs a ton and makes a racket taking it off. It will fit various wheels sizes. It takes a few minutes to fit, but so what? The choice Cilla is yours, but get something on it. It really does put them off. They're lazy bar stewards. If they weren't, they'd have a real job, so a wheel clamp may just make them search for something else to steal. A nice BMW perhaps. Less BMW's on the road, now there's a whole new thread......

http://www.bulldogsecure.com/product/10 ... heel-clamp

I also have one of these that I used to fit on my motorhome, but it is adjustable to fit most vehicles. Another ace piece of it

http://www.centinel.org.uk/clutch_claw.php